The Domestics team with Tucker Martine for sonic experiments on forthcoming album “Little Darkness”

What's YOUR Scene?
The Domestics team with Tucker Martine for sonic experiments on forthcoming album “Little Darkness”


“[The Domestics’] still-fresh self-titled debut is a heart-on-its sleeve affair, loaded with wistful tunes steeped in the tradition of the great American rock song.”—SPIN
“The Domestics are not entering the indie scene quietly. Rather, [they are] starting out with a strong, loud and joyful sound.”—Paste

“Demurely charming…you can easily glean the authenticity of the group’s emotional earnestness.”—Nerdist

Little Darkness, the second full-length LP from up and coming Portland, OR-based group The Domestics, is out September 1 on Tender Loving Empire. Produced by Tucker Martine (Modest Mouse, My Morning Jacket, The Decemberists, Laura Veirs), the album was crafted by Leo London and Michael Finn in the wake of a pair of failed relationships following the band’s extensive 2015 U.S. tour with Blitzen Trapper. Pre-order Little Darkness at

Finn, who works with Martine as an engineer at Portland’s Flora Recording, teamed with the critically acclaimed producer on the new album to create a sound distinct from the more organic, acoustic feel for which Martine has come to be known. Experimenting with a plethora of effects and found sounds such as crowd noise, hissing toy robots and chains dropping on a studio floor, the group would routinely spend upwards of 16 hours a day working in the studio while recording.

“It felt like the culmination of the past five years spent working with Tucker, having built that rapport and aligning our workflow the way we have, and then getting to apply all that to these songs of Leo’s that we had developed such high expectations for,” explains Finn. “It’s the most rewarding process I’ve ever been apart of.”

U.K.-based website Gold Flake Paint recently premiered the album’s title track, calling it “a brooding and sometimes brash title track; a riveting four minutes or so that leaps between spacious vocal refrains and something altogether more urgent.”

Stream the song at and share it at

Centered around the songwriting of London and Finn, The Domestics are rounded out by band members Kyle Moderhak (drums), Matt Moore (bass) and Brad Norton (keys). The band’s self-titled debut album landed them on SPIN’s “Artists to Watch” list, while the record also garnered extensive critical acclaim from Paste, Nerdist, FLOOD, PopMatters and many more, as well as throughout the group’s hometown publications including Portland Monthly, Willamette Week and The Portland Mercury.

The Domestics’ songs have appeared in HBO’s “Vice Principals” and ABC’s “Secrets and Lies” and “Quantico.”

1. Love That Dress
2. Tunnels and Trains
3. Little Darkness
4. For the Last Time
5. Going Down the Wrong Way
6. Trampoline Girl
7. Suicide Hotline Sign
8. Good Not Great
9. Synthetic Girl
10. Less Light
11. Our Light

error: Protected Content