What's Your Scene?

Elizabeth Cook’s “Two Chords And A Lie” debuts today

Elizabeth Cook’s “Two Chords And A Lie” debuts today


July 31, 2020—Acclaimed singer, songwriter and musician Elizabeth Cook’s new song, “Two Chords And A Lie,” is debuting today. Listen/share HERE

“Two Chords And A Lie” is the latest track unveiled from Cook’s anticipated new album, Aftermath, which will be released September 11 on Agent Love Records/Thirty Tigers (pre-order here). 

Produced by Butch Walker (Green Day, Weezer, Taylor Swift), Aftermath is an album about survival and resilience. The twelve songs—all written by Cook—address life’s most fundamental and difficult subjects including heartbreak, addiction, death and resurrection. Created following a period of significant loss and pain, the album chronicles Cook’s journey through a personal hell and how she made her way back. 

Ahead of the release, Cook has shared two additional album tracks: “Bones” and “Perfect Girls of Pop,” of which Rolling Stone proclaims, “Cook mines a vein of restless, jangling college rock that calls to mind R.E.M. and the Replacements…the tune lets Cook ruminate on the path of being an outsider and all the heartache one endures along the way, whether playing the game or not.” 

Of the album, Cook reflects, “This is the first time that I’ve been completely unchained, really. I wasn’t in an oppressive relationship, I wasn’t trying to meet some sort of label’s expectation, I wasn’t trying to meet some sort of market expectations. And that’s the way I wanna do it, or not at all.” 

Recorded at Walker’s Ruby Red Studios in Santa Monica, CA, Aftermath also features Steve Duerst (bass), Herschel Van Dyke (drums), Aaron Embry (keyboards), Andrew Leahey (guitar) and Whit Wright (pedal steel, dobro).

Aftermath is Cook’s seventh full-length album and first release since 2016’s Exodus of Venus. Of the album, Rolling Stonedeclares, “magnificently entertaining,” while American Songwriter praises, “Cook’s finest, most riveting and intensely personal work.” Additionally, The New York Times calls Cook, “a sharp and surprising country singer,” while NPR Music proclaims, “her self-awareness, hip hard-country delivery, comedic gifts and ability to project magnetic personality—have made her a treasure of the Americana singer-songwriter scene.” In addition to her celebrated musical career, Cook is also the host of “Upstream with Elizabeth Cook,” a new fishing and interview show on the Opry’s Circle TV network, and has hosted her regular “Elizabeth Cook’s Apron Strings” show on SiriusXM’s Outlaw Country channel for the past 10 years. An all-time favorite of David Letterman’s, Cook is a cast-member of Adult Swim’s animated series, “Squidbillies” and has performed at the Grand Ole Opry over 400 times since her debut in 2000. Originally from Florida and now based in Nashville, she has toured extensively across the world and collaborated with several iconic artists including Patty Loveless, Buddy Miller, John Prine and Dwight Yoakam.


1. Bones

2. Perfect Girls of Pop

3. Bad Decisions

4. Daddy, I Got Love For You

5. Bayonette

6. These Days

7. Stanley By God Terry

8. Half Hanged Mary

9. When She Comes

10. Thick Georgia Woman

11. Two Chords And A Lie

12. Mary, The Submissing Years

Photo credit: Electropogram


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on reddit
Share on email

You May Also Enjoy: